MENU

mayo

high school

World Languages

In an ever more globally-oriented world, the study of a world language, modern or classical, provides students the opportunity to learn to communicate in another language. It also gives them the opportunity to learn about other cultures, thereby providing them with skills and understanding which will be useful in higher education, in the world of business, in the arts, and for travel to other countries.

In world language, we expect all students to:

  • Develop the skills of listening, speaking, reading, and writing for functional communication.
  • Develop an understanding of the nature and function of language.
  • Develop an understanding and appreciation of the target language and of its cultures.
  • Develop an understanding and appreciation of the worldwide and domestic influence of the target cultures.
  • Develop an awareness of the evolving and critical need for cross-cultural communication and cooperation.
  • Develop and appreciation for other cultures and overcome commonly held stereotypes.



MEET OUR WORLD LANGUAGES DEPARTMENT: 

Jason Worden
Email:   jaworden@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Jaime Gathje
Email:   JAGATHJE@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: https://moodle.rochester.k12.mn.us/

Luke Madsen
Email:   lumadsen1@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Christa McGarry

Email:   CHMCGARRY@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: Skyward

Susan Smolders
Email:   SUSMOLDERS@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/madamesmolders/home 

Mike Thompson
Email:   MITHOMPSON@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: https://planbook.com/

Cindy Tiedeman
Email:   cytiedeman@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Shonda Tohm
Email:   shtohm@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: https://www.edmodo.com/

Hailey Walters
Email:   hawalters@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.

Rochester Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, or disability.