MENU

mayo

high school

Social Studies

On the K-12 level, we expect all students to:

  • Develop an understanding of self in the context of time, space, and culture.
  • Develop an understanding of the interrelatedness and dynamic nature of social, political, and economic systems within a culture.
  • Develop an understanding that every society is based on learned beliefs and values about life which are shared and which influence behavior.
  • Demonstrate a pluralistic perspective and respect for the contributions of groups within a society.
  • Develop an understanding of the interdependence of the global community and an active concern for the world's ecosystems.
  • Develop the historical perspective and critical thinking skills necessary to find meaning in current human experience.
  • Demonstrate the knowledge, values, and decision-making skills essential to participate as a rational, caring citizen in local, state, national, and global communities.
  • Demonstrate an understanding and application of, and commitment to, democratic principles, behaviors, and institutions which recognize individual rights, freedoms, and responsibilities.




MEET OUR SOCIAL STUDIES DEPARTMENT: 

Andrew Brue
Email:   anbrue@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Chris Carter
Email:   CHCARTER@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Jennifer Dunn-Foster
Email:   jedunnfoster@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Jake Giesen
Email:   JAGIESEN@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Bart Grafstrom
Email:   BAGRAFSTROM@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Steve Huesman
Email:   STHUESMAN@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Kristie Kinneberg
Email:   krkinneberg@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Jeff Lunde
Email:   JELUNDE@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Scott Lyke
Email:   SCLYKE@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Kathleen Norman
Email:   KANORMAN@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Monte Priebe
Email:   MOPRIEBE@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Chris Schmitz
Email:   CHSCHMITZ@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Thomas Senne
Email:   THSENNE@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Dave Terpstra
Email:   DATERPSTRA@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.

Rochester Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, or disability.