MENU

mayo

high school

English

To meet the varied needs, abilities, and interests of students, the English Language Department has developed a program that includes both required and elective courses in English, speech/drama, and journalism. All courses include the following skills: reading, writing, speaking, listening, and critical thinking. 

The curriculum has been designed to ensure challenging, differentiated experiences, and active involvement of students in the learning process. Instructional materials recognize and respect student diversity and include strategies that develop thinking skills. All courses and assessments related to course goals are aligned with state standards, state university competencies, and national standards. 

Required Courses: 

  • English I: Foundations
  • English II: American Literature/Composition
  • English III: World Literature/Research
  • English IV: One Semester
  • English: Speech Foundations




MEET OUR ENGLISH DEPARTMENT: 

Corinne Ehrfurth
Email:  COEHRFURTH@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Pattie Ekman
Email:  PAEKMAN@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: http://ekmanspartans.wordpress.com/ 

Diana Erickson
Email:  DIERICKSON@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: ericksonspartans.wordpress.com 

Jen Gaul
Email:  JEGAUL@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Jennifer Loven
Email:  jeloven@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Amy Monson 
Email:  AMMONSON@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Ann Neil
Email:  ANNEIL@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: http://msneil.wordpress.com/

Lydia Olson
Email:  lyolson@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Daniel Parker
Email:  DAPARKER@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: https://mrdparker.wordpress.com/

Thomas Perry
Email:  STSCHUTZ@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500

Steven Schutz
Email:  STSCHUTZ@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: https://schutzenglish.wordpress.com/

April Stasko
Email:  apstasko@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: https://apstasko.wordpress.com/

Jeff Swegarden
Email:  JESWEGARDEN@rochester.k12.mn.us
Phone: (507) 328-5500
Website: https://jeswe.weebly.com/
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.

Rochester Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, or disability.